Isaac Butt, W.E. Gladstone, et al.

published on 06 Mar 2014

The Freedom of the City of Dublin has been awarded to seventy-six people. The first recipient, in 1876, was Mr Isaac Butt, QC, MP, and the seventy-five that came after are enumerated below:

W.E. Gladstone, U.S. Grant, Edward E. Potter, Charles S. Parnell, John Dillon, Kevin Izod OíDoherty, Patrick A. Collins, William Oí Brien, The Marquess of Ripon, John Morley, Patrick F. Cardinal Moran, Margaret Sandhurst, James Stansfeld, George Salmon, Stuart Knill, Timothy Daniel Sullivan, Thomas Sexton, J.E. Redmond, P. A. McHugh, An Craoibhìn Aoibhìn, Spencer Harty, Hugh P. Lane, Richard Croker, E. OìMeagher Condon, Charles A. Cameron, Kuno Meyer, Peadar Ua Laoghaire, Daniel Mannix, John McCormack, Ehrenfried Gunther Baron von Hunefeld, Hermann Koehl, James C. Fitzmaurice, Frank B. Kellogg, Lorenzo Cardinal Lauri, John Lavery, John Purser Griffith, G. Bernard Shaw, Richard J. Cushing, Paul A. Dever, Sean T. O Ceallaigh, John Cardinal DíAlton, Gerald P. OíHara, A. Chester Beatty, John F. Norton, G.P. Cardinal Agagianian, Michael Cardinal Browne, John F. Kennedy, Hilton R.H. Edwards, Micheàl Mac Liammóir, Eamon de Valera, John A. Costello, Joannes Paulus PP. II, Noel Purcell, Maureen Potter, Akihito, Michiko, Stephen Roche, Nelson Mandela, Pádraig Ó hIrighile, M. Teresa M.C., Jack Charlton, William J. Clinton, Gabriel M. Byrne, Aung San Suu Kyi, Paul McGuinness, The Edge, Larry Mullen Junior, Adam Clayton, Bono, Mikhail Gorbachev, Kevin Heffernan, Ronnie Delany, Bob Geldof, Thomas Kinsella, Louis le Brocquy.1

If my cursory glance doesn’t overlook anyone, that’s seventy-one men (including all four members of U2) and five women. There’s Michiko, empress-consort of Japan. There’s Anjezë Gonxhe Bojaxhiu, Blessed Teresa of Calcutta, MC, Catholic missionary. There’s Aung San Suu Kyi, Burmese politician. There’s Margaret Sandhurst, English suffragist. And, finally, there’s Maureen Potter, actor and comedian, who, of the seventy-six recipients of the Freedom of the City of Dublin, is the only Irish woman.

The Lord Mayor nominated and City Council approved two further awards for 2014: Brian O’Driscoll and Father Peter McVerry.

  1. The brief dataset is available on Dublinked.